The County Climate Change Fund (CCCF) mechanism supports county governments to mainstream climate change in planning and budgeting; access climate finance from different sources and; strengthen public participation in the management and use of those funds. The CCCF mechanism was successfully piloted in five counties — Isiolo, Garissa, Kitui, Makueni and Wajir between 2011 and 2019 — and is now being scaled out.

The Financial Sector Deepening Trust Kenya (FSD Kenya) partnered with the Adaptation Consortium (Ada) in 2020, to scale out the CCCF mechanism in six counties of Bomet, Kakamega, Kisii, Kisumu, Nandi and Vihiga within the Lake Region Economic Bloc (LREB). Additional counties of Machakos, Narok and Kwale were brought on board in early 2021 and have since made significant progress in terms of establishing and fully operationalizing the CCCF mechanism

Download File

Spread the love